It’s been a while!

“Sorry I haven’t blogged in a while, but real life has returned.”

Ah, real life. That old fiend, in his many masks- work, school, family, friends, relationships…it all piles up, and something has to give.

The thought that I haven’t blogged in a while kept popping up in my mind but I’ve been extremely busy, and unfortunately the blog is near the bottom of my current priority list. But last Wednesday a friend I don’t often see asked how I was doing and said “I keep checking your blog to see what’s new… where have you been?!”

The truth is that there really wasn’t anything new to write about. But that is not to say that I have been twiddling my thumbs, not with a dozen deadlines to meet! Between assignments, exams and work, I have been swamped and had to take a break from blogging. But now that my exams are over, I am back. Thanks to all the loyal readers who commented to find out what happened (North Korea hasn’t bombed us & we are very much alive) and we are very grateful for the 2 awards we received in our absence (from psycoders and Anilcm). Its also a surprise to see that we have surpassed the 20,000 views mark! Wasn’t it just the other day we reached 10,000? Amazing. I notice that the most searched item on the blog is “eating dog”. Hmmm!

Now actually, my hiatus from the World Wide Web has seen much activity in Korea and let me bring you all up to speed with a few things that happened.

My school took a field trip to a place called Jincheon. Essentially Jincheon is a sleepy little Korean town in the middle of nowhere (as if where I live isn’t rural enough). It was a nice day out of the classroom though. They made some soap, dug up peanuts and did some pottery. Here are some pictures from that day.

Here are some pictures from a trip to Oaem ri Folk Village with my colleagues (who preferred not to be photographed!). The Folk Village is interesting because it has preserved its traditional way of life. Most Koreans live in the fast-paced rat-race cities, but they still remember their roots and culture at places like the Folk Village.

Kerissa and I went to Gyeongju one weekend when I had to take a break from my books. A city filled with cultural relics, Gyeongju dates back to the 1st century BC in the province of Gyeongsangbukdo. This picturesque city allows tourists to step back in time, experience the beauty of the land and exquisite architecture, and view numerous relics from when Gyeongju was the capital of Korea. Despite the history and culture in Gyeongju, I also managed to teach Kerissa how to ride a bicycle (one of her new year’s resolutions). It was one of those moments where I realized that I really am a teacher- I actually teach outside of school & enjoy it!

 

As you can see autumn came to Korea and then abruptly left. Autumn in Korea is the best season with perfect temperatures and stunning scenery. Unfortunately it’s starting to get chilly over here now (it was minus 2 degrees Celsius this morning), so I’m starting to pull out my knits & long sleeves [cuddle weather!]

 

Speaking of which, I took Faraaz shopping for winter clothes one weekend since it will be his first ‘white winter.’ We have just been relaxing and hibernating as one does in winter and planning our upcoming holidays (more about that soon!).

I promise to catch up on everyone’s posts and get right back to writing ASAP 😀

14 thoughts on “It’s been a while!

  1. Aneesa’s back…woot! So happy to see you again. I was thinking about you (NOT in a stalker fashion) and even visited your blog a couple of times in the last week. I get email notifications when you post, because I’m a fan, but it was very quiet. Then, you liked one of my posts and here you are. Yay!

    I understand all about life taking precedence. I recently returned to a full-time job and am juggling like crazy. However, my blog grounds me in a sense, encouraging me to let the creativity flow and to reflect on life. Welcome back.

    • Thanks for your lovely comment. Don’t worry about being a stalker- I don’t mind! Its very flattering to know that this little blog was missed. I am really happy to be back here, reading and writing about life 🙂

  2. Wonderful pictures! Thank you for sharing; and thank you for following my blog :). I have returned the favour.

    Kirstiie @ Tribe of Mannequins WordPress
    and
    House of Vegan WordPress

So what do you think?

