And we are back!

Faraaz and I are back in the blogging sphere and believe me, there are reasons for our prolonged absence away… such as:

We got ENGAGED! It’s been about a month now but it’s still very exciting

 

This is me and my fiancé (!!!). Photo credit to Landi G. Photography. Feel free to check out more of our engagement pictures on her Facebook page! I do love this one she took of my ring:

Faraaz and I have known each other for 8 years. Yes. Eight. We are those people.

Here are some pictures from over the years…

cute together

My 1st day at university in 2007. (If this were a When Harry Met Sally interview, this is the point when I’d lean into the camera and say “and that’s when I knew“)

34577_475969987626_7466740_n

This picture is from my 21st birthday where Faraaz gave a heart-warming speech and came dressed as a pilot. What more could a girl ask for?

We graduated on the same day but at different times. This is one of my favourite pictures.

And of course here is a picture of me the night he proposed. We really should’ve taken one together but we were so caught up in the evening, it slipped our minds. This is was just before he popped the question. Faraaz was amazing and absolutely surprised me.


As for the story of the proposal, well it involves a buffet dinner, snow and yes I was completely stunned! We are super excited and can’t wait to see all our friends and family in South Africa to celebrate. I had an idea we would get engaged sometime soon but I didn’t think he had anything planned for what I had thought would be just another dinner. I  later found out that family members and friends may have known about it way in advance but everyone kept their lips sealed and I was surprised.

Over the next few days it started to hit us how much planning we had to do in the coming months! And HEY we are getting married!

Next up:

We went to Thailand!

I had been to Thailand once before and fell in love with the place. So when Faraaz and I were planning our holiday, I knew I wanted to go back and this time take him with. Of course I had no idea it would be the first holiday we would go on, being engaged so it turned out to be extra special!

There are so many things I love about Thailand. In my second trip there, the people continued to be gentle, kind and generally happy – you can tell their sense of joy just by looking at their faces. They are incredibly friendly and have a wonderful sense of humour. If you smile first, they will smile even more broadly. They are simply happy, regardless of their financial circumstances. It was a breath of fresh air.

Thai taxi/tuk tuk drivers? It’s like Korea on drugs. You just hold on for your life. You never really see accidents here. They know what they are doing and they are quick to react.

The food: sublime. From crispy soft shell crab salad to huge cheeseburgers to curries all colours of the rainbow, we feasted and ate like kings!

From tiger cuddling to elephant trekking, we had a great time during our 2 weeks there, and were fortunate to see several different parts of the country, from lazy southern beaches to crazy Bangkok to a more subdued Chiang Mai in the north.

I plan to document our stay in greater detail, but while Faraaz sifts through and edits the photos, here is a sneak peek of what you can look forward to:

Collage 1 Collage 2 Collage 3

14 thoughts on “And we are back!

  1. many congratulations, mubarak! so very happy for you both…love all the pics esp the first and of you both on the tiger…it’s not a real one is it? tell me its a huge soft toy! 🙂 the ring’s absolutely gorgeous by the way!

  2. Congratulations to you both! I love following your blog and your travels!! You guys are such a beautiful looking couple and I wish you many wonderful years of happiness!! Hugz, Lisa

So what do you think?

